News Archive
General Advisory: watch out for domain scams
Over the last few weeks, eTailor have been contacted by a number of concerned clients who have received an unsolicited email regarding their company name and website. This is a general advisory to all about these scams, along with some background information.
The email content usually consists of this type of content:
*From:* sherry [mailto:sherry@randomdomainname.com]
Dear CEO,
*To:* info
*Subject:* [your company name[-Intellectual property rights (To CEO)We are a domain name registration service company in asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the May 26, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named "[Name] International Holdings Ltd" wanted to register following
Domain names:[a list of your domain names appears here]
...through our body.
After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of this company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.Best Regards,
Sherry
Auditing Department------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hong Kong Office:
Tel: [xxxxx]
Fax: [xxxxx]
It all sounds very genuine, but don't be fooled! This is simply a clever scam/phishing attempt to get you to buy domain names etc. at inflated prices from a disreputable reseller.
If you a receive an email similar to the above, please feel free to contact eTailor for advise. You can also visit the IIA (Irish Internet Association) at www.iia.ie.
Previous page: SEO Tips
Next page: Testimonials
Add A Comment
I got one of these this week. Thanks for the information and clarification.